• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Eeyorefortoolong

Eeyorefortoolong
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 30 September 2014 - 07:44 PM

Hi, I guess I'll just jump in and test the waters.  I'm brand new to BTB.  I am a 55 year old unemployed male.  I am fortunate to have a loving, supportive wife, three wonderful daughters, and a few semi-close friends.  I am also am a member of a church which gives me something of a support group there, although I often feel uncomfortable being there with my feelings of low self esteem and inadequacy. I am a musician/singer but I seem to be going deaf, which has affected my employment, many other aspects of life, and hasn't helped much with my depression.  I was emotionally abused as a child from as early as I can remember until my late teens by a sibling.  That has left an indelible mark upon my life..but I dare to think I can overcome it, or at least reach a higher level of happiness than I presently have (today seems to be one of my "dark" days.)  It seems to me that I've pretty much led a depressed life, characterized by various degrees of depression, anxiety, and low self esteem.  Sometimes, I've had periods of relative happiness, with my depression taking a back seat. About 2 1/2 years ago, I went through a nasty situation at work, resulting in my being treated very badly and eventually, I was fired.  That messed me up very badly and triggered severe depression that I haven't really recovered from completely.  After living in denial and barely functioning for over a year, I sought professional help and met with a counsellor for about a year. I made some pretty good progress, then the rug was jerked out from under me again recently. I desperately need someone I can talk to..and now I simply cannot afford professional counselling.