• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sassy85

Sassy85
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 23 March 2010 - 09:18 PM

I am curious can some one educate me on the difference between bipolar I and bipolar II? I suffer from major clinical depression(I think), I say I think because they say people with bipolar are sometimes first diagnosed as having depression. I am wondering if any one knows how you could tell? Is it possible that manic states are so minimal you might not know? I have tried several different medications and dosages to ail my depression and none seem to help that is why I am wondering.

#2 natoking

natoking
  • Members
  • 408 posts
  • Interests:Boating, biking, music, conversation, world affairs, politics, love and sex.<br /><br />I am a graphic artist.

Posted 23 March 2010 - 11:12 PM

Sas,

I was diagnosed as having clinical depression. I was put on celexa (an antidepressant). I started to feel euphoric! I was thinking that this was the way I supposed to feel all of my life! Turns out I was manic. My friends told me that I was not myself and I was overbearing. Well, it turns out that the doc thinks I am bipolar 2 because of the reaction to the celexa. I stayed on a lower dose of celexa but he added Lamictal ( a mood stabilizer ). I was okay for a while but then I started having mixed episodes of depression and mania at the same time. It was bizarre and frightening. I researched the net and found out about these mixed episodes that bipolar 2 people get. My doctor immediately took me off of the antidepressant and upped my mood stabilizers. So far it is working but the meds are terribly expensive, especially without insurance. I get them from a Canadian website for a fraction of the cost.

Typically bipolar 2 people get depression and occasional hypo-manic or mild forms of mania.

Google around, there are some good websites that helped me communicate with my doctor too zero in on what is going on.

Mixed states from Wikipedia -