Photo

Mixed Episodes - Progress

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 natoking

natoking
  • Members
  • 408 posts
  • Interests:Boating, biking, music, conversation, world affairs, politics, love and sex.<br /><br />I am a graphic artist.

Posted 05 December 2009 - 11:33 PM

Hi All!

Since I last wrote, I have done much research (maybe too much) on mixed episodes. From what I was reading, it fit me to the tee.

I visited my psychiatrist today, two weeks ahead of schedule. He agreed with my self analysis of having mixed episodes which he considers to be a very serious problem. I told him that I suspected that my meds were perhaps not working for me. I currently take Celexa (SSRI anti-depressant) in the morning with Lamicatal. Before bed I just take Lamictal. A couple of times, I forgot my nighttime dose of Lamicatal and noticed that I would have mixed episodes the following day. I also sometimes got them without missing an evening Lamictal. He had immediately stopped the Celexa and has increased my Lamicatal.

It was odd that he told me to stop researching and analyzing myself and my conditions. I see his point but if I hadn't, I would not have been able to recognize this condition and communicate it in our 15 minute appointments once a month. It is crazy to think that my mental health and medications that effect my well being are being supervised once monthly for 15 minutes! Life without insurance!

At any rate, I am happy that we are on to something and I am hoping for a smoother ride with the new med game plan.

For those of you not familiar with "mixed episodes". I have copied the Wikipedia definition below. I find it pretty accurate and helpful But one must contact your doctor before diagnosing one's self and before we should alter any med.

"From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
This article is an expansion of a section entitled Mixed State from the main article: Bipolar disorder