Photo

Being honest - up front

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 natoking

natoking
  • Members
  • 408 posts
  • Interests:Boating, biking, music, conversation, world affairs, politics, love and sex.<br /><br />I am a graphic artist.

Posted 30 November 2009 - 05:00 AM

I have been on several dates w/ a real nice woman. I feel a bit uncomfortable not telling my whole story. I think that despite my manic depression, I am a great boyfriend/husband. My question is, when, how and to what degree do I share. Before intimacy? This is why I feel more comfortable w/ like minded people. Two bipolar people don't alway mesh though.

Everybody has crap to deal with but BP can freak some people out. I like this woman. She is very kind and empathetic. I am just too much of an open book sometimes. I like to this way but perhaps I need to find the time, place and person to open up to. I would never want to start off a relationship hiding something.

Any thoughts? Bob

#2 drgnfly

drgnfly
  • Members
  • 901 posts
  • Flag:
  • Interests:Art, Books, Sleeping

Posted 30 November 2009 - 10:14 PM

I think when the right time to tell someone depends on the relationship. I don't believe there are etiquete rules that say when the proper moment would be. Wouldn't that make it easier though??! If you feel uncomfortable not telling her, then maybe it is time.
You say she is kind and empathetic, so I would hope that she would not look at your illness as a deal breaker. You are obviously enjoying getting to know each other, or you wouldn't keep setting up dates together!
Being an open book is not a bad quality, it is refreshing to meet people who are honest about their feelings.
I wish I had better advice for you. Each situation is unique. I wish you the best with whatever you decide.
Sabrina

#3 RWigram

RWigram
  • Members
  • 1,435 posts
  • Flag:
  • Interests:Scrabble-History-Reading-Baseball-Football

Posted 01 December 2009 - 12:01 AM